top of page

Venturer Award Scheme

The Venturer Scout Award Scheme is designed to widen Venturers' interests and knowledge, while challenging them at the same time. It assists in planning a balanced program based on the Aims and Methods of Scouting. The Award Scheme is not compulsory for Venturer Scouts, but those who do attempt it find they have a lot of fun while discovering new things.

There are four main components to the Award Scheme. These consist of the Venturing Skills Award, the Venturer Award, the Endeavour Award and the Queen's Scout Award. In addition, Venturers may earn a number of special badges depending on their interests.

Venturing Skills Award

Venturing Skills Award

To achieve this award a Venturer Scout must meet requirements for the basic skills of bushwalking; first aid, and the award scheme and approval of Unit Council..

Venturing Skills Award

The Venturer Award requirements are: gain the Venturer Skills Award and the Venturer Award level in Initiative, Environment, Unit Management, Ideals and First Aid plus two other optional areas on approval of the Unit Council.

The Venturer Award

To attain the Endeavour Award there are four stages to undertake:

Select an activity and and complete for about 10 hours at Venturer Award level.

Using the same activity, further develop skill/expertise by completing the minimum time required for Queen's Scout level.
Using the same activity, further develop your skill expertise by completing an additional 50 hours.
Complete your Venturer Award.

Endeavour Award

To achieve this prestigious award a Venturer Scout must be able to set a goal; plan progress towards that goal; organise their self and others; and maintain the determination to overcome difficulties and complete the task.

They must also have achieved the Venturing Skills Award and complete the requirements in four award areas:

  • Outdoor Activities – demonstrates that the Venturer Scout is challenged in initiative, expeditions an outdoor adventures.

  • Community Involvement – activities centred on citizenship, community service and caring for the environment.

  • Leadership Development – involvement in Unit management and leadership courses and studying different vocations.

  • Personal Growth – self development through expressions, ideals, mental pursuits and personal lifestyle.

Queen’s Scout Award

Special Interest Area

bottom of page