top of page

Scouts Award Scheme

The Scout Award Scheme provides the main focus for Patrol and Troop activities and gives suitable recognition to Scouts for achievement. The Scout Section Award Scheme includes a number of components:

  • Scoutcraft Badge – facilitates entry into the Scout Troop and teaches or reinforces basic Scout skills.

  • Target Badges – eight targets (campcraft, citizenship, air activities, construction, environment, water safety, emergencies or water activities) that provide the main source of program material and aim to encourage participation and develop basic skills.

  • Proficiency Badges

  • Patrol Activity Badges

  • Cords – there are three cords which can be achieved on the progress towards the top Scout award.

  • The Scout Leadership Course - designed to provide suitable leadership skills for Scouts with a practical hands-on approach.​

  • The Leadership Activity – allows a Scout to demonstrate significant personal development and an active leadership role.

  • The Australian Scout Medallion - the ultimate Scout award.


There are three levels of Target badges. To achieve the Pioneer, Explorer or Adventurer Badge, the Scout must complete the two compulsory Campcraft and Citizenship Target badges, plus one of the six elective target badges at each level.


Proficiency Badges: The aim of this system is to allow the Scout to develop in a challenging and interesting pursuit. To achieve a Proficiency Badge the Scout must fulfil requirements set in conjunction with their Adviser and which include the three elements of demonstrate/investigate, skill and an activity. There are 31 Scout Proficiency Badges.


The Australian Scout Medallion is the highest award in the Scout Section. It is considered the pinnacle of Scouting at this stage. To earn the Australian Scout Medallion a Scout must:

  • Participate in a Scout Leadership Course at any time after completion of the Pioneer Badge;

  • Demonstrate an active leadership role in Scouting;

  • Achieve the Adventurer Cord.


Special Interest Area

bottom of page